Getting Help After a Car Accident in Tampa
Knowing what to do ahead of time if you are ever in a car accident can make going through the ordeal a little less challenging. No one anticipates an accident, and even a minor fender-bender can leave a person feeling frightened and frustrated. Here are some tips on what to do.
Follow Florida’s Laws
When there has been an accident and property damage, injuries, or death have occurred, it is important that you stay at the scene. If possible, try not to obstruct traffic if you can safely move out of the way. If there are injuries, call 911 for medical assistance. If you are able, give “reasonable assistance” to the injured, but do not move anyone unless they are in imminent danger.
The law requires you to stay at the scene, offer help if possible, and exchange information with others involved in the accident. Failure to do any of these things could lead to serious consequences for you, including being charged with a misdemeanor, and even a felony if injury or death is involved.
Notify Law Enforcement
Whenever injury, death, or property damage over the amount of $500 is involved, you must notify the Hillsborough County Sherriff’s Office, the Tampa Police Department or the Florida Highway Patrol. Do not leave the scene of the accident until you are allowed to do so.
Collecting Information at the Car Accident Site
The information you should obtain from others involved in the accident includes names, addresses, phone numbers, vehicle registration numbers, driver’s license numbers, insurance carriers, and the policy numbers. This information will help later, and it is important to get it while at the scene because you may not be able to get it later.
In addition to getting information from other drivers involved in the accident, if there are witnesses to the accident, get their contact information as well. Most people have camera capabilities on their cell phones, so get detailed pictures of the accident and the immediate area surrounding the accident. The sooner you write down what you remember, the more accurate the information.
Get Medical Attention ASAP
Do not delay being examined by a qualified doctor. Florida is a “no fault” state and drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP), which has a 14-day window for seeing a doctor. Keep in mind that some injuries do not show up until days, sometimes even weeks, after an accident.
If you have injuries, you may qualify for compensation. Tison Law Group of Tampa, FL, offers personal injury services. We provide our clients with excellent representation. We offer a free initial consultation, so contact us to schedule an appointment. We are here to help in your time of need.