Getting Compensation After an Accident with an Uninsured Motorist
Most states require some form of minimum liability insurance for every driver. Florida is no exception. Florida law states that driver’s must carry $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection coverage, which includes up to $10,000 in lost wages and medical expenses for accident victims. Liability coverage is meant to assure that the insurance coverage for the driver at fault will be able to compensate for damage or injury of other parties involved in an accident. If this is the case, why buy uninsured or under-insured coverage?
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Not everyone agrees that getting uninsured or under-insured coverage with your auto insurance policy is worth it. The problem with that thinking is that, while required, many drivers in Florida still don’t carry liability insurance. When you are the victim of an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, you are in a bad position. You likely won’t be compensated without filing a lawsuit, if at all. If you do have uninsured coverage, then your own insurance company should be responsible for paying for damages you’ve incurred that the other party cannot pay.
Getting Compensated with Uninsured Coverage
You might expect to automatically be paid by your insurance company once the other driver who is an uninsured motorist is determined to be at fault by the police officer on the scene of the accident. The truth is that even after you file a claim for the uninsured or under-insured benefits, you’ll have to prove qualifications for a payout.
Company’s often avoid or delay payments for uninsured motorist coverage unless the claimant pursues the issue. You’ll have to prove that you do have this coverage, that the other driver was negligent or committed an unlawful act that caused your accident and damages, and that they were at fault and deemed liable. Contact Tison Law Group to help sort the confusion and see that you get the compensation you are owed.