College Student Defense
If you are a college student who has been accused of a crime – or if you are the parent of a college student who has been charged with a crime – you need to retain a strong Tampa criminal defense lawyer who understands the laws in Florida and who can argue on your behalf effectively. Being young and making mistakes certainly go hand in hand. Just because you made a mistake or you were in the wrong place at the wrong time does not mean that you should suffer unfair punishment. Do not let a simple misunderstanding or one bad choice destroy your future! A criminal record can hurt your educational opportunities and your future career.
With a tough Tampa college student defense lawyer from our team at the Tison Law Group on your side, however, you do not have to be afraid. We understand what you are going through and we are ready to fight effectively so that you can gain the second chance you need. Whether you were arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol or were accused of a sex crime, drug crime such as possession or cultivation, shoplifting or another theft crime, or a violent crime such as assault and battery, we are ready to stand in your corner and provide the counsel and advocacy you need.
Parties often get out of hand in college, and the mixing of varying ages of students and too much alcohol inevitably leads to poor choices and dire outcomes. A common charge brought upon college students is underage drinking, as well as public intoxication, both of which can lead to a student spending the night in jail, serious fines, and even the chance of losing an scholarships and possibly even being expelled from college. Underage drinking, which often leads to a minor in possession of alcohol, is a second degree misdemeanor in Florida for a first time offender, per to statute 562.111. The maximum penalty for second degree misdemeanor is a fine of $500 and 60 days in jail. The second offense is a maximum fine of $1,000 and one year in jail. Additionally, the state has the right to revoke an underage drinker’s driver’s license, even though they were not behind the wheel at the time of their arrest, for at least six months and up to one year for the first offense and up to two years for the second.
We Are There for You When You Need Us Most
Whether a college student is caught drinking underage, stealing, driving under the influence, or committing another type of violent crime, it is imperative to seek legal help at once. When you need a criminal or school discipline defense lawyer the most, we are ready to stand by you. As a young person, you have your whole life ahead of you. Let us help you protect your future and ensure that you have the freedom to reach your potential. Call the Tison Law Group today to schedule your free consultation with our experienced college student defense lawyers.